Sunday, July 17, 2011

2011 FISH LAKE #2

It was my turn to choose the location. (Dustin.)  3 reasons convinced me to go back to Fish Lake even after our low succcess in 2009. 

#1 - It's in the middle of the state and made it an equal drive for everyone.
#2 - The reports all said the fishing was HOT.
#3 - The outsite chance to land the BIG ONE. (Mackinaw)


Dad is in Brazil right now so he was out. 
We brought our boat again, and she ran like a champ.  (She's very reliable!!!)

Well this pretty much played out like every single year has. 
This is how it always seems to go:
We go to a spot that is supposed to be HOT as can be.  Usually someone we know went last week and we read all the reports. 
Then, inexplicably, the week we show up somehow the fishing slows WAY down. 
(More likely we just STINK at fishing.)  Hehe

Scott Finch who works with Josh and I went the previous week and he said quote "we fished all day long and someone was always catching one at any given moment".

Anyway, some day the stars will align and we will have the best fishing trip ever.

In the meantime, we still have lots of fun and make a lot of great memories.

It's was mainly an ongoing inside joke but we decided to increase the number of categories this year

Biggest fish - Dustin  - 17 inches
Most fish - Jason - 5
Fewest fish - Travis - 1
Second biggest fish - Travis - 16.5 inches
First fish - Josh
Smallest fish - Dustin - See picture
Higest average fish size - Travis (didn't catch any perch)
Last Fish - Jason
Most Trout - Jason - 3
Most actual got away's - Josh
Most false alarms/didn't really have em's - Jason
Most different method's of fishing - Jason  (Dad or Jason always win this one.)


We stayed in Loa at the Snuggle Inn - see pic - it was really quite nice.  At midnight as we were going to sleep we had a 45 minute conversation in which we all agreed we'd sleep in till 8:00.  Well Jason woke up at 6:00 and woke us all up at 6:30 anyway cause the room was too bright to go back to sleep. 

We had an ongoing number of things go wrong particulary as we were trying to get on the road on Friday to get to Fish Lake.  From forgeting to get the boat sterilized and having to run out to sand hollow, to waiting till the last second to borrow Scott's giant poles, to finding out 3 hours to late that we could have used the Hansen's cabin but already dropped $100 bucks on a hotel.  The trailer lights were out, so Josh drove to walmart for a fix, but I got them going, then he decided to fix them anyway, but the fix wasn't working but finally it was.  Leaving the maps and my fishing license at my house and having to drive back.  There are at least 3-5 more that I can't remember now, oh yeah, spending too much on worms, then Travis dropping 2 bucks into a self serve worm bucket only to find there were only 4 dead worms left and our original worms weren't a bad deal after all.  To missing the shortcut and driving an extra 5 miles the list goes on.

Anyway, we did fair a bit better than 2009 Fish Lake trip,  catching about 15 in 6-7 ours of fishing.  (In 2009 we caught 11 in 12 hours.)

We got a few more pics and had quite a blast.  We did also get blown off the lake by a giant windstorm at noon on Saturday when we were hoping to fish several more hours.  That stunk.  Also we stopped to fish the stream on the way back but couldn't find our worms.  I caught one fish on the first catch on an old worm on a pole from the lake.  It was good sized but ate my worm and we went home.  Jason is up next year and since he's moving to Idaho we think that may be our destination.  (Better catch a lot for that long drive.)  











No comments:

Post a Comment